Curriculum

A Few of My Favorite Things

Today I thought I would highlight a couple of my favorite lessons using Montessori materials. My all time favorite is the land and water forms. This is a really great way for children to visualize land and water formations and I love, love, love that it is all about opposites! This is such a fun lesson that it is hard for me not to take over when my children are working on it. Here are some pictures because, as you know, a picture is worth a thousand words.

img_04371

After introducing the cards and definitions we pull out the clay! I highly recommend using a good modeling clay. It lasts a really long time because it does not dry out if you keep it properly stored and it is water repellant.

Using two tubs, push the clay down into the bottom of one of the tubs. Then cut out the shape of the chosen land form.

img_04391

Next, carefully pick up your choice of the water or land sections and place them into the second tub.

img_04401.jpg

Last, pour water that has been tinted with blue food coloring into the tubs for the water.

img_04411.jpg

This is a great way to make learning fun. I really get excited when I see the light go on in my little girls brains and this is one of those visual lessons that really flips that switch.

And then we have the vowel tree. This is another really fun lesson!

This took a little work to make but it is worth it in my opinion. I laminate all my material for durability. It you don’t have a laminator it’s fine but be prepared to remake a few pieces as you go. So, as you can see, it is a fairly simple concept. Take a list of three letter words, cut out the center vowel, and slide the word down the tree. As the children sound out each new word don’t be concerned about if it makes a real word or not. It’s all about leaning correct sounds. You can take the time to talk about if it is a real word or not as an extension just don’t get hung up on it. We have actually had some good laughs together over some silly sounding combinations and trying to make up a sentence using the fake word.

img_04351.jpg

Once they have mastered the simple three letter words you can make and use words that have blends as well.

img_04361

      If you decide to try these ideas I hope you will enjoy them as much as we have.                As always, please feel free to comment with your own ideas and favorite lessons.        Happy Schooling!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

