The Cafeteria

Apple Chips

img_2422

Fall is just around the corner and even though the humidity and temperature here in the Deep South hasn’t abated, I feel the delicious tingling of Autumn in my core. With the A/C chilling my skin and the smell of my Mulled Cider candle I can almost believe fall has arrived! Truth be told, it will be awhile before the weather outside matches the feeling inside. That won’t stop me from decorating, burning my fall scented candles, and baking the best of the seasonal offerings though!

Our preschool theme this month is apples. We’ve snacked on apples and peanut butter, tasted different apple varieties, and I plan to welcome the first day of Fall with homemade applesauce. This week I decided to be a little more adventurous and make Apple Chips.

I found a recipe online and bought only 2 Fuji apples for my experiment. I had marginal hopes that they would be any good.

They weren’t good.

They were absolutely amazing!

They were crispy, crunchy, cinnamon-sugary, hint-of-apple-sweetness amazing!

We will definitely be making these several more times this season; munching on them for snack and lunch, giving them as gifts, taking them to pass at parties, etc.

Apple chips take 3 hours to bake (more like dry out) in the oven. I was daunted by this at first, but decided we would make them first thing in the morning as a cooking activity (lots of practical life and measurement involved) and let them bake throughout the morning as we went about our other school activities. An added perk was that the house smelled like cinnamon apples (and I wasn’t burning a candle).

The Ingredients

  • 2 Fuji apples (you can substitute another variety, but I’m not sure they all crisp up the same way)
  • 1/8 tsp of ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp of sugar
  • *We used much more cinnamon sugar on our chips. Hannah’s sprinkles were more like mounds so we ran out rather quickly despite my damage control.

The Process

  • Preheat oven to 225
  • Core and peel the apples.
  • Slice very thinly using a mandolin slicer. (Trust me, you need one of these to get the thinness and crispiness of chips. I found one for $10 at my local grocery store. It’s also a great kitchen tool to have around.)
  • Line two baking sheets with parchment paper (another kitchen staple) and lay the apple slices side by side.

img_2404

  • Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.

img_2405

  • Bake apples for 1 hour. Flip the slices and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.
  • Return to the oven and bake for another hour then turn the oven off. Leave the apples in the oven for another hour to cool.
  • Remove them from the oven. They should be nice and crisp.

 

Try not to eat too many!

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Apple Chips

  1. This sounds sooooo Goooood!!! We will be trying this ASAP!
    We just picked a big bag of gala apples at the orchard so I will let you know if that variety gets crispy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I made two batches with Gala apples. YUM!!! I think you need to cook galas a little longer than the recipe calls though. They were a tad chewy. Still, I’m pretty sure I ate more than the girls. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

