Classroom Environment

Put Your Seatbelts On, We Are a Go For Launch!

 

I can see the floor!!IMG_0672[1]

The  pencils  are  sharpened  and  the  books  are  all  lined  up  with  care.  The  papers  are stacked  and  the  shelves  are  all  dusted.  T’was  the  night  before  school  and  all  through  the  house… ok,  maybe  that’s  a  bit  much.  Point  is,  I  think  I  am  actually ready.  I  feel  good  about  the  curriculum  and  our  schedule.  This  year  we  chose  to  use  A Beka  as  our  skeleton  and  add  in  some  hands  on  material  I  already  have.   We  decided  to use  the  school  calendar  from  a  local  school  for  our  timeline.  Last  year  I pushed  a  little  harder  than  I  think  we  needed  to  so  I  made  some  corrections.  We  are  taking  days  off  when  the  other  school  does  and  giving  ourselves  snow days  too.  I  know,  we  don’t  have  to  leave  the  house  so  we  don’t  technically  need  them  but  what  kid  doesn’t  have  great  memories  of  waking  up  for  school  and  finding  out “NO SCHOOL!”  because you are going to build snowmen instead.  I  want  my kids  to  have  those  memories  too.  I  also  bought  new  supplies  for  all  three  and  they  tucked  them  into  there  back packs  ready  for  their  first  day.  They  are  soooo  excited  to  “go” to school!  My  husband  installed   hooks  outside  the  classroom  for  them  to hang  their  packs  and  coats  on.  We  are  going  to  pack  lunches  and  bring  them  to  school  and  take  first  day  of  school  pictures.

Children  have  amazing  imaginations  if  you  can  cultivate  it.  Just  because  you  are  at  home  doesn’t  mean  you  are  not  at  school.  With  just  a  few  little  things  you  can  make  them  feel  transported  to  school.  That  really  helps  with  their  attitude too.  When  we  are  in  the  classroom  I  am  not  mom,  I  am  teacher.  Suddenly,  my  children  are  raising  their  hands  and  pushing  in  their  chairs  and  participating.  It  is  an  amazing  thing  to  witness.  Have a  p.j. day  or  a  crazy hair  day,  or  wear  a  certain  color  day…name  your  school,  give  it  a  mascot,  school  colors… Have Fun!

I  am  looking  forward  to  the  year  and  hope  all  of  you  are  too.  Ready  or  not,  here  we  go!

One thought on “Put Your Seatbelts On, We Are a Go For Launch!

  1. I love this! Your room looks so cute and organized!!! I got warm fuzzies reading about the snow days, and packing lunches, and the “squeaky” newness of starting school…something akin to nostalgia I think! I wish you a great start to your school year and I look forward to all the pictures and progress!

    Like

Leave a Reply

